Cold War Files: All Units: Events: German Unification

October 3, 1990
German Unification

Germany was officially reunified on October 3, 1990, when the five reestablished federal states (Bundesländer) of East Germany formally joined the Federal Republic of Germany.

An agreement to reunite both parts of Germany was reached on February 13, 1990. This agreement was implemented through the so-called "Two Plus Four Treaty", signed on September 12, 1990 by the four occupying powers: the United States, United Kingdom, the Soviet Union, and France, as well as by the Federal Republic of Germany (West Germany) and the German Democratic Republic (East Germany).

footer navigation
Copyright 2005, Cold War International
History Project. All rights reserved.