Cold War Files: All Units: Events: Creation of the Warsaw Pact

May 1955
Creation of the Warsaw Pact

In direct response to the formation of the new West German army, the Soviet Union entered into a formal military alliance (similar to NATO) with East Germany, Poland, Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Romania, and Bulgaria. Named the Warsaw Pact, this treaty legitimized the presence of Soviet forces in Eastern Europe and helped to counter the existence of NATO.

footer navigation
Copyright 2005, Cold War International
History Project. All rights reserved.