Cold War Files: All Units: Events: "Two Plus Four" Treaty Signed in Moscow

September 12, 1990
"Two Plus Four" Treaty Signed in Moscow

The "Treaty on the Final Settlement With Respect to Germany" more commonly known as the "Two Plus Four Treaty" was the final peace treaty negotiated between the Federal Republic of Germany, the German Democratic Republic, and the Four Powers that occupied Germany at the end of World War II in Europe - France, the United Kingdom, the United States and the Soviet Union.

The treaty was signed in Moscow on September 12, 1990. The treaty paved the way for the German re-unification, which took place on October 3.

Under the terms of the treaty, the Four Powers renounced all rights they formerly held in Germany and re-united Germany became fully sovereign again on March 15, 1991. The Soviet Union agreed to remove all troops from Germany by the end of 1994. Germany agreed to limit its combined armed forces to no more than 370,000 personnel, no more than 345,000 of whom were to be in the army and air force. Germany also agreed it would never acquire nuclear weapons.

Germany's also renounced all claims to territory east of the Oder-Neisse line. By so doing Germany accepted the territorial losses it suffered following World War II. Germany also agreed to sign a separate treaty with Poland confirming their present border, which it did the following year.

Although the treaty was signed by the two German states as separate entities, it was ratified by a united Germany.

footer navigation
Copyright 2005, Cold War International
History Project. All rights reserved.