Cold War Files: All Units: Events: Berlin is Occupied

July 4, 1945 49 years
Berlin is Occupied

When the war ended in May, the only Allied soldiers in Berlin were the Soviet forces that had fought their way in at the end of April 1945. Under the terms of the Yalta Agreement, Berlin was to be divided into four occupation zones (US, British, French, and Soviet) under the control of the Allied Control Council. American forces officially arrived on July 4 at a cermony on the grounds of the former Prussian Military Academy. The US Army would remain in Berlin until 1994.

footer navigation
Copyright 2005, Cold War International
History Project. All rights reserved.